Sketchbook work ….

This is a very short blog demonstrating how I have used my sketchbooks with the first one being for primarily the required exercises throughout the course and the second two with additional photographs and postcards.

img_3857On the left is an example of my general coursework sketchbook work based on an exercise during an early assignment – as I write this I am just about to submit my final assignment and this seems a long time ago!

img_4515

 

 

Another  page has some photographs I took at the Ashmolean Museum in Oxford on a whistle-stop tour on the day of my eldest son’s wedding and also one further day when I literally had 30 minutes before meeting my 2 sons and daughter!! The casts in the museum I absolutely loved and am looking forward to a visit when I can spend considerably longer at the museum and in particular the paintings which I have not yet had the chance to see.

 

img_3856The third image is of a sketchbook/scrapbook of postcards and photographs/leaflets purchased and taken during the course when I visited various country houses and any galleries or exhibitions.  This particular sketchbook and the third too have become a favourite because it really does document quite literally the journeys I have been on with my fiance in tow in search of architecture and art  with some of the trips being part of the course requirements and some being additional extras. This first image is of Kedleston Hall which has become one of our favourite places – partly for the history and art and partly for the gentle walks and wildlife because the park lands designed by Robert Adam.

img_4524This is another one of the pages showing a visit to Sudbury Hall near Uttoxeter and again it has become very much a favourite place to visit.  I find this house much more like a family house than Kedleston – it is less show and more home quite literally and has clearly been well loved over many decades.  The house has the grandeur you would expect in many rooms but it also has what I would term ‘parlours’ which are inviting and cosy and clearly used by the family in much the same way any much smaller,  less wealthy families would use them.

img_4518As for the other exercises – this photograph is an example of my version of a still life albeit a slightly tongue-in-cheek version!  I could not draw a 17th century still life so took the ideas of books being about human knowledge and its temporary nature and also the art materials representing an indulgence in the arts – this painting could yet be done again (hopefully improved) and hung near my desk as a reminder of this course and the books studied.

Throughout the whole course I have made many visits and most I have blogged (with one or two oversights I admit) and the sketchbooks have become part of the history of the course and representative of the journey taken – the sketchbooks are in essence a scrapbook of 2015 and 2016 but with the added advantage of the write-ups on this blog.

At the point of writing my household has a wonderful collection of guidebooks and also a National Trust writing which will continue to be used extensively throughout 2017 and beyond.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Research & Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

